We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Digital Twin


Digital Twin is a new publishing platform for researchers, practitioners and experts to rapidly publish any research about digital twin they think are worth sharing, with all articles benefiting from open peer review. Digital Twin publishes scholarly articles reporting any state-of-the-art basic scientific and applied research about digital twin, including multidisciplinary fields such as smart manufacturing, aviation, aerospace, smart city, construction, healthcare, robotics, ship, vehicles, railway, logistics, industrial engineeringsystem engineering, agriculture, mining, energy and environment, etc. 

Aims & Scope 

The aim of Digital Twin is to publish archival scholarly literature with the goal of advancing the state of the art in digital twin and encouraging innovation in developing efficient, robust and sustainable multidisciplinary applications in various fields. Challenges are addressed from theory, methodtechnology, to applications within and across broad sectors including manufacturing, aviation, aerospace, smart city, construction, healthcare, robotics, ship, vehicles, railway, logistics, industrial engineeringengineering management, agriculture, mining, energy and environment, etc. 

The scope of Digital Twin includes, but is not limited to, the following areas: 

  • Digital twins concept, architecture and framework
  • Digital twin theory and method 
  • Digital twin key technologies and tools 
  • Digital twin applications and Case studies 
  • Digital twin implementation 
  • Digital twin services 
  • Digital twin security 
  • Digital twin standards  



  • Smart Manufacturing 
  • Aviation/Aerospace 
  • Smart City and Construction 
  • Healthcare and Medicine 
  • Robotics 
  • Ship, Vehicles and Railway 
  • Industrial Engineering and Engineering Management 
  • Agriculture 
  • Mining 
  • Power, Energy and Environment 
  • General Topics for Engineers 
  • Standards  

Article Types 

Digital Twin will feature a range of article types including research articles, case studies, method articles, study protocols, software tools, systematic reviews, data notes, brief reports, and opinion articles.  

Publishing Model 

Uses an open research publishing model: Articles can be online and published rapidly within 14 days of submission, followed by open invited peer review 

Open time for submissions 

Bookmark this page to keep up to date with the latest developments for Digital Twin, open for submissions in July 2021. 


The Digital Twin International Advisory Committee

The Digital Twin International Advisory Committee are a group of subject experts who are ambassadors of the platform to the global academic community. They provide constructive input and guidance on publishing policies, aims and strategic direction of the platform.

Honorary Advisors

Executive Chief Advisor 

Assistant Chief Advisor 

AB-1: Advisory Board (Smart Manufacturing & Aviation/Aerospace) 

  • Ang Liu - University of New South WalesAustralia 
  • Aydin Nassehi - University of Bristol, UK 
  • Jianhua Liu - Beijing Institute of Technology, China 
  • Michael Sangid - Purdue University, USA 
  • Nabil Anwer - Paris-Sud University, France 
  • Qiang Liu - Guangdong University of Technology, China 
  • Robert X. Gao - Case Western Reserve University, USA 
  • Sang Do Noh - Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea 
  • Thorsten Wuest - West Virginia University, USA 
  • Xiaojun Liu - Southeast University, China 
  • Yingfeng Zhang - Northwestern Polytechnical University, China 

AB-2: Advisory Board (Smart City & Construction) 

  • Gleb Radchenko - South Ural State University, Russia 
  • Quanquan Guo - Beihang University, China 
  • Willie Tan - National University of Singapore, Singapore 
  • Xiaohui Jin - Beijing Aero-top Hi-Tech Co., Ltd.China 

AB-3: Advisory Board (Healthcare & Medicine) 

  • Abdulmotaleb El Saddik - University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Cecilio Angulo - Technical University of Catalonia, Spain
  • Jamal Deen - McMaster University, Canada 
  • Mikael Benson - Linköping University, Sweden 
  • Yicha Zhang - Belfort-Montbéliard University of Technology, France 

AB-4: Advisory Board (Robotics) 

  • Ali Ahmad Malik - Siemens Gamesa Renewable EnergyDenmark 
  • Christian Schlette - University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
  • Hongxing Wei - Beihang University, China  
  • Hui Xu - Research Institute of Automation for Machinery (Beijing) Technology Development Co., Ltd, China 
  • Matthew Joordens - Deakin University, Australia 
  • Munir Merdan - Practical Robotics Institute Austria (PRIA), Austria 
  • Wenjun Xu  - Wuhan University of Technology, China 
  • Zhinan Zhang - Shanghai Jiaotong University, China 

AB-5: Advisory Board (Ship, Vehicles & Railway) 

  • Amir R. Nejad - Norwegian University of Science & Technology, Norway 
  • Chengqing Yuan - Wuhan University of Technology, China 
  • Hao Li - Zhengzhou University of Light Industry, China 
  • Konstantinos Anyfantis - National Technical University of Athens, Greece 
  • Sakdirat Kaewunruen - University of Birmingham, UK 
  • Yefa Hu - Wuhan University of Technology, China 

AB-6: Advisory Board (Industrial Engineering & Engineering Management) 

  • Alexander Brem - University of Stuttgart, Germany 
  • Feiyue Wang - Institute of Automation Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • Huibin Sun - Northwestern Polytechnical University, China 
  • Junqiang Wang - Northwestern Polytechnical University, China 
  • Liang Gao - Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China 
  • Ling Wang - Tsinghua University, China 
  • Rami Bahsoon - University of Birmingham, UK 
  • Stefan Wolfgang Pickl - University of the Federal Armed Forces Munich, Germany 
  • Tariq Masood - University of StrathclydeUK 
  • Ting Qu - Ji'nan University, China 
  • Tingyu Liu - Southeast University, China 
  • Xi (Vincent) Wang - KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden 

AB-7: Advisory Board (Agriculture, mining, energy and environment) 

  • Bo Nørregaard Jørgensen - University of Southern DenmarkDenmark 
  • Feng Xiang - Wuhan University of Science and Technology, China 
  • Mike Zhou - China Electric Power Research Institute, China 
  • Osama A. Mohammed - Florida International University, USA 
  • Palensky Peter - Technische Universiteit Delft, Netherlands 
  • Rene Hofmann - Vienna University of Technology, Austria
  • Vili Panov - Siemens Industrial Turbomachinery Ltd, Lincoln, UK
  • Yan He - Chongqing University, China 

AB-8: Advisory Board (Standard) 

  • Jingsong Ouyang - Instrumentation Technology and Economy Institute, China
  • Sha Wei - Chinese Electronics Standardization Institute, China
  • Tianliang Hu - Shandong University, China 
  • Xiaohui Yu - Chinese Academy of Information and Communications Technology, China
  • Zaifang Zhang - Shanghai University, China 
  • Zuguang Huang - Chinese Machine Quality Supervision and Inspection Center, China 

Global Forum of the 5th Conference on Digital Twin and Smart Manufacturing Service 


Global Forum of the 5th Conference on Digital Twin and Smart Manufacturing Service is to be held in Xi’an, 15-17, October, 2021. As a parallel session of IMCC 2021, the Global Forum of the 5th Conference on Digital Twin and Smart Manufacturing Service is dedicated to gathering world-renowned scholars to build a high-level international exchange platform and lead the innovation and development of science, technology and engineering in the Digital Twin field. 

5th Conference on Digital Twin and Smart Manufacturing Service will be held in Shanghai, 16-18, July, 2021

ISSN 2752-5783